JOURNAL OF THE FACULTY SENATE The University of Oklahoma (Norman campus) Special session – October 11, 2017 – 3:30 p.m. – Jacobson Faculty Hall, Room 102

> office: Jacobson Faculty Hall, Room 206 phone: (405) 325-6789 e-mail: <u>facsen@ou.edu</u> website: <u>http://facultysenate.ou.edu/</u> facebook: <u>http://www.facebook.com/OUFacultySenate</u>

Note: The remarks of the Senators and others are summarized and not verbatim. A recording of this meeting is available in the Faculty Senate office.

PRESENT: Ashby, Bradshaw, Burge, Burke, Burns, Burstein, Davidson, Demir, S. Ellis, Elwood Madden, Fiedler, Golomb, Hall, Heyck, Hambright, Hobson, Jamili, Koch, Lai, Lifset, Markham, Nelson, Pepper, Schmeltzer, Sprecker, Trafalis, Volz, Warren, Woodfin

> Provost's Representative: ISA representative(s): Chris Cook SGA Representative(s):

ABSENT: Asprey, Bradley, Churchman, Cox-Fuenzalida, N. Ellis, Gutierrez, Houser, Jeffers, Karr, Keppel, Keresztesi, Lamothe, Martens, Martin, Miller, Natale, Shah, Stewart, Stock, Swinkin, Wang, Weaver

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Election of Nominees to the Presidential Search Committee 1

Once quorum was established, the Faculty Senate was called to order by Professor Sarah Ellis, Chair. The Chair announced that this was a special session with a limited agenda, thus the Senate would dispense with the normal order of business.

ELECTION OF NOMINEES TO THE PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE

The University of Oklahoma Board Of Regents requested that the Norman campus Faculty Senate forward the names of six Norman faculty, from which the Regents shall select three, for the presidential search committee. The Senate voted unanimously to approve the following slate of six nominees:

- Mary Sue Backus, Professor of Law; OU faculty since 2004, J.D., William and Mary School of Law
- Amy Cerato, Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering; OU faculty since 2005, Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Amherst
- Maria del Guadalupe Davidson, Associate Professor of Women's & Gender Studies; OU faculty since 2007, Ph.D., Duquesne University
- Sherri Irvin, Professor of Philosophy; OU faculty since 2005, Ph.D., Princeton University
- George Richter-Addo, Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry; OU faculty since 1993, Ph.D., University of British Columbia
- Thomas Woodfin, Professor of Landscape Architecture; OU faculty since 2011, Ph.D., Texas A&M University

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 3:34 p.m. The next regular session of the Faculty Senate will be held at 3:30 p.m. on Monday, November 13, 2017, in Jacobson Faculty Hall, Room 102.

acer L. Bedgood

Stacey L. Bedgood, Administrative Coordinator

Joshua B. Nelson, Faculty Senate Secretary