JOURNAL OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE Special Session, October 12, 1953, 4:10 P. M. Monnet Hall, Room 101

The Senate, meeting in special session, was called to order by the Chairman, Dr. Joseph C. Pray.

Present	Present	Absent	Absent
Bavinger, E. A. Bell, R. E. Bernhart, Arthur Bruce, J. B. Comp, L. A. David, Paul R. Duncan, J. P. Ewing, Cortez Farrar, C. L. Fraser, George Hall, R. G. Leek, J. H.	Mertes, J. E. Monnett, V. E. Morris, Virginia Olson, Ralph E. Poston, Lawrence, Jr. Pray, J. C. Reese, J. E. Sears, A. B. Self, J. T. Stanley, A. J. Tuma, Gerald	Cross, G. L Goodman, G. J. James, R. V. Kelly, Florene C. Kerr, Harrison Lane, Willard R. Livezey, W. E. McFarland, Dora Moorhead, M. L. Peach, W. N. Ragan, W. B. Raines, J. M.	Scatori, Stephen Wardell, M. L. Westfall, O. D. White, R. R. Wilson, M. O. Winfrey, L. E.

DISTRIBUTION OF UNIVERSITY SENATE MEMBERSHIP

Explanatory Comment

.

The Charter of the University Senate, as approved by the Regents of the University in 1947, provides in part as follows:

The Faculty of each college and degree granting school of the University shall be entitled to representation in the Senate proportionately on the basis of a quota to be determined by the general faculty every third year beginning in 1947. However, each college and independent degree granting school shall elect at least one member to the Senate. Any member of that faculty is eligible for election as such representative if he meets the eligibility requirements prescribed hereafter. The general faculty shall elect the remaining members of the Senate.

In the regular meeting of the University Senate on September 28, 1953, Dr. Moorhead moved that consideration of the proportional distribution of membership in the University Senate for the three-year period, September 1, 1954 to September 1, 1957, be referred to the appropriate committee of the Senate. The motion was approved and Dr. Pray, as Chairman of the Senate, referred the matter to the Committee on University Organization, Budget, and Publications.

DISTRIBUTION OF UNIVERSITY SENATE MEMBERSHIP -- continued

Report of the Committee on University Organization, Budget, and Publications

The Committee on University Organization, Budget, and Publications recommends that membership in the University Senate for the next three years (1954-57) be allocated in the following manner:

	Number of Faculty Members	Recommended Membership	Current Membership	Difference
College of Arts and Sciences. College of Engineering. College of Law. College of Pharmacy. College of Education.	61 11 6	15 4 1 3	16 4 1 1 2	-1 0 0 0 /1
College of Bus. Admin College of Medicine College of Fine Arts Graduate College General Faculty Subtotal	39 55 42 0 	2 3 2 1 <u>11</u> 43	3 2 2 1 11 43	-1 /1 0 0
Ex Officio Member (President Cross)		<u> </u>	1	
Total		44	2121	

The reapportionment here recommended is based upon an official report of the President's Office upon the present faculty personnel with ranks of instructor, assistant professor, associate professor, and professor.

A quotient of 17 was used to determine the recommended apportionment for the various constituent colleges. The general faculty would continue to have eleven representatives in the Senate.

Committee on University Organization, Budget, and Publications

R. E. Bell W. E. Lane Stephen Scatori

A. B. Sears George Fraser E. A. Bavinger, Chairman

Senate Action

The foregoing report was presented by Professor Bavinger. He explained in some detail the procedure by which the recommended distribution was determined. Professor Bavinger moved the adoption of the report with the recommendation that it be placed on the Agenda of the October 22, 1953, meeting of the General Faculty. The motion was passed by the Senate.

ADJOURNMENT

The Senate adjourned at 4:35 p.m. The next regular meeting will be Monday, October 26, 1953, at 4:10 p.m.