JOURNAL OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE September 29, 1952, 4:10 p.m. Monnet Hall, Room 101

The Senate, meeting in regular session, was called to order by the Chairman, Dean H. B. Brown.

Present

Bavinger, E. A. Browder, Jr., O. L. Brown, Jr., H. B. Bruce, J. B. Crook, K. E. Edmondson, V. G. Fite, G. C. Goodman, G. J. Hall, Rufus G. Hughes, F. C. James, R. V. Kelly, Florence C. Marrs, Wyatt Matlock, J. R. Mertes, J. E. Monnett, V. E. Moorhead, M. L.

Present

Merris, F. C. Peach, W. N. Poston, Lawrence Pray, J. C. Pritchard, J. P. Pugmire, D. R. Rackley, J. R. Ragan, W. B. Raines, J. M. Reese, J. E. Scatori, Stephen Sears, A. B. Self, J. T. Springer, C. E. Warren, Mary A. Wilcox, S. C. Wiley, J. B.

Absent

Cross, George I. Herbert, H. H. Stanley, A. J.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

The Journal of the Senate for the May 26, 1952 meeting was approved.

SENATE ELECTIONS

Chairman of the Senate

Dr. Olin I. Browder, Jr., was elected Chairman of the Senate by acclamation.

Vice Chairman of the Senate

Dr. Joseph C. Pray was elected Vice Chairman of the Senate by acclamation.

Secretary of the Senate

Dr. Gerald A. Porter was elected Secretary of the Senate by acclamation.

NOMINATIONS FOR SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES

The Committee on Committees (H. H. Herbert, Chairman, J. E. Reese, and J. Bruce Wiley) submitted the following list of nominations for standing committees in the Senate:

Committee on Academic Standards

- 1. A. I. Browder, Jr.
- 2. J. B. Bruce
- 3. G. J. Goodman
- 4. V. E. Monnett
- 5. Lawrence Poston, Jr.
- 6. J. T. Self

Committee on Courses and Curricula

- 1. R. G. Hall
- 2. R. V. James
- 3. Florence C. Kelly
- 4. J. E. Mertes
- 5. J. R. Rackley
- 6. J. E. Reese

Committee on Faculty Personnel

- 1. H. B. Brown
- 2. J. R. Matlock
- 3. M. L. Moorhead
- 4. W. N. Peach
- 5. J. C. Pray
- 6. S. C. Wilcox
- 7. J. B. Wiley

Committee on Journal

- 1. J. P. Pritchard
- 2. J. C. Pray
- 3. Stephen Scatori

Committee on Teaching and Research (Including Space, Libraries and Other Facilities)

- 1. K. E. Crook
- 2. G. C. Fite
- 3. F. C. Morris
- 4. J. P. Pritchard
- 5. W. B. Ragan
- 6. Mary A. Warren
- 7.

Committee on University Organization, Budget, and Publications

- 1. E. A. Bavinger
- 2. V. G. Edmondson
- 3. H. H. Herbert
- A. B. Sears
- 5. C. E. Springer
- 6. 7.
- Committee on Student and Public

Relations

- 1. F. C. Hughes
- 2. J. W. Marrs
- 3. D. R. Pugmire
- 4. J. M. Raines
- Stephen Scatori
- 6. A. J. Stanley
- 7.

Committee on Committees

- 1. H. H. Herbert
- 2. J. E. Keese
- 3. J. B. Wiley

Note: Seven committee places remain unfilled because of vacancies caused by expiration of terms, leaves of absence, resignations from the faculty. and deaths. These will be filled when persons are elected to fill the existing vacancies in the Senate.

The first person named in each committee will serve as temporary chairman until a permanent chairman is elected at the first meeting of the committee.

The above list of nominations submitted by the Committee on Committees was approved uranimously by the Senate.

UNIVERSITY COUNCIL ON PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT

Nominations for New Member

From the following list of nominations the President will select one individual for a four-year appointment on the University Council on Planning and Development to fill the vacancy created by the expiration of the term of Dr. Bruce Houston.

William S. Burgett Bruce Houston

J. Ralph Rackley E. J. Schultz

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY | IBRARIES

Nominations for New Members

From the following list of nominations the President will select three individuals for three-year ampointments on the Committee on University Libraries to fill the vacancies created by the expiration of the terms of Dr. Robert E. Bell, Professor William H. Smith, and Professor Carl T. Almquist.

John C. Brixey
J. F. Brookes
John B. Bruce
Max L. Noorhead

Carlos D. Mosley Kenneth M. Richter Winston O. Smith A. O. Weese

The President will make the appointments to the Committee on University Libraries in accordance with the original plan of representation: "four persons from the College of Arts and Science and not more than one person from any other college shall constitute the committee of nine people."

COMITTEE ON FACUITY RETTREMENT

Nomirations for New Members

From the following list of nominations the President will select two individuals to serve on the Committee on Faculty Retirement.

Kenneth E. Crook Ruth D. Fell Dora McFarland Clifford A. Merritt

Joseph C. Pray Laurence S. Reid Ronald B. Shuman Herbert Wrinkle

One individual from the above list will be selected for a five-year term to fill the vacancy created by the expiration of the term of Dr. W. N. Peach. The other individual will be selected to replace Dr. Howard W. Larsh while he is on leave of absence. Dr. Iarsh will again serve on this committee when he returns to the Campus.

ADJOURNMENT

The Sema te adjourned at 5:00 p.m. The next regular meeting will be Monday, October 27, 1952, at 4:10 p.m.

Gerald A. Porter, Secretary

Telephone: Station 308

Office: Room 306, Graduate Education Building