JOURNAL OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE September 29, 1949-4:10 p.m. Monnet Hall, Room 101

The Senate met in regular session with President G. L. Cross in the chair.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Beach, Leonard Bienfang, Ralph Blankenship, Forrest F. Calhoun, John C. Comp, L. A. Cosgrove, A. L. Couch, Glenn C. Cross, G. L. De la Torre, A. M. Ewing, Cortez A. M. Farrar, C. L. Franklin, C. M. Frederickson, E. A. Goodman, George J. Hoy, Harry Keeley, Joe Livezey, William E. Lottinville, Savoie Matlock, J. Ray

Nielsen, J. Rud Ortenburger, A. I. Penfound, Wm. T. Pray, Joseph C. Rinsland, Henry D. Rohrer, John H. Sanders, Stella Schriever, Wm. Schultz. E. J. Sears, Alfred B. Shuman, Ronald B. Sneed, Earl Snyder, L. H. Stow, Lloyd Wardell, M. L. Winfrey, L. E. Benson, O. E.

MEMBERS ABSENT:
Bender, John F.
Cass, Carl B.
Copeland, Fayette
Kritser, Harriet W.
Smith, Paul W.

The Journal of the Senate for May 2, 1949, was amended to show the election of Dr. Wm. Schriever to the Committee on Committees.

The following newly elected members, each to serve a term of three years, were introduced:

ARTS AND SCIENCES

Monnett, V. E.

Harry Hoy William Schriever Stella Sanders Lloyd Stow

BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

A. L. Cosgrove

ENGINEERING

John C. Calhoun

FINE ARTS

Harriet W. Kritser

PHARMACY

Ralph Bienfang

MEDICINE

Paul W. Smith

GENERAL FACULTY

John F. Bender
Glenn C. Couch
Carl Mason Franklin
J. Rud Nielsen
A. I. Ortenburger
Wm. T. Penfound

Dr. M. L. Wardell was elected Vice Chairman of the Senate for the coming year.

Dr. Monnett read a letter from Professor E. E. Hatfield in which he requested that he not be re-elected as Secretary of the Senate. He gave as his reason for the request that due to his numerous other duties that he does not now have the necessary time to devote to the work as it should be done.

Accordingly, Mr. Charles E. McKinney, Instructor of Business Communications, was rominated and elected as Secretary of the Senate.

A motion carried that a vote of thanks be conveyed to Professor Hatfield for the seven years of faithful service he has rendered the University as Secretary of the University Senate.

A list of the standing committees of the Senate, and the personnel of each committee as proposed by the Committee on Committees and approved by the Senate, is attached.

A special committee from the Faculty Senate appointed to work with the Student Senate on the subject of Senior exemption from final examinations was appointed as follows: John C. Calhoun, Oliver E. Benson, Ronald B. Shuman, Forrest F. Blankenship, and E. J. Schultz.

A list of the Senate Personnel for the current year is attached.

Last April 25 the Senate approved a report creating a "University Council on Instruction." A letter from Vice President Franklin, suggesting certain changes in the report, was considered. Considerable discussion followed. The report was finally referred to the Senate Curriculum Committee for further study and report at the next meeting.

An item of business carried over from the May meeting proposed by Dr. Kenneth Crook was as follows: "that a revision of the rules regarding cheating on examinations be considered." The proposal was referred to the Senate committee on University Standards.

The following eight men were nominated to serve on the University Budget Council: W. K. Newton, Ronald B. Shuman, L. E. Winfrey, V. E. Monnett, Spencer H. Norton, C. A. Merritt, M. L. Wardell, and J. H. Leek. President Cross will select three of these nominees to serve on the Budget Council.

A letter from Vice President Cate on the subject: "Evaluation of the teaching effectiveness of faculty members" which information would be used by the University Budget Council was considered. The letter was referred to the Senate committee on Faculty Personnel.

A letter from President Cross on the subject: "Early final examinations for degree candidates" was considered and referred to the Curriculum Committee.

A letter from President Cross revealed his selection of the following personnel to serve on the newly created <u>University Council</u> on <u>Instruction</u>:

Carl Mason Franklin, Chairman
L. N. Morgan, Executive Secretary
Dr. Cortez A. M. Ewing --3 year term
Dr. Ernest C. Ross --3 year term
Professor Dewey L. Barnes --2 year term
Dr. O. L. Browder, Jr. --2 year term
Dr. John C. Brixey --1 year term
Professor Spencer Norton --1 year term

Dr. Benson proposed the following resolution which was approved:

That the regulation for advanced standing examinations which restricts them to students who are in the first semester of their enrollment at the University should not be applicable during the semester in which the provisions become effective (the first semester of the academic year 1949-1950).

A list of course changes which have been made since January 27, 1949, was submitted by Professor L. N. Morgan, Editor of Publications, to the Secretary to be presented to the Senate. Copies of these changes will be duplicated and presented to the Senate at the next meeting.

There being no further business, the Senate adjourned at 5:140 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Charles E. McKinney, Secretary B. A. Room 7A, Phone Sta. 228

The following is a list of the Senate personnel as of September 26, 1949.

President George L. Cross, Chairman

2	Beach,	Leonard	В.	(A.	ಬಿ	S.)		1	Livezey,	William	E.	(A.	& S	5.)	
---	--------	---------	----	-----	----	-----	--	---	----------	---------	----	-----	-----	-----	--

NOTE: The numbers indicate the number of years that the Senators still have to serve, including the present school year.

University Faculty Senate Committees 1949-150

A. CURRICULUM

- 1. L. H. Snyder
- 2. L. E. Winfrey
- 3. Henry D. Rinsland
- 4. C. L. Farrar
- 5. Lloyd Stow

B. LIBRARIES AND LABORATORY FACILITIES

- 1. John H. Rohrer
- 2. A. M. De la Torre
- 3. Leonard B. Beach 4. A. I. Ortenburger
- 5. John C. Calhoun

C. RESEARCH

- 1. William E. Livezey
- 2. L. H. Snyder
- 3. Forrest F. Blankenship
- 4. J. Rud Nielsen
- 5. Paul W. Smith

D. FACULTY PERSONNEL

- 1. Ronald B. Shuman
- 2. Joseph C. Pray
- 3. M. L. Wardell
- 4. C. M. Franklin
- 5. Carl B. Cass

E. UNIVERSITY STANDARDS

- 1. Fayette Copeland
- 2. Earl Sneed
- 3. Ralph Bienfang
- 4. Harry Hoy
 5. William T. Penfound

F. UTILIZATION AND DEVELOPMENT OF UNIVERSITY BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS

- 1. C. M. Franklin
- 2. Glenn C. Couch
- 3. L. A. Comp
- 4. Fayette Copeland

G. ORGANIZATIONS OF DEPARTMENTS, SCHOOLS AND DIVISIONS

- 1. Oliver E. Benson
- 2. Alfred B. Sears
- 3. John F. Bender 4. J. Ray Matlock
- 5. A. L. Cosgrove

H. EXTRA-MURAL FUNCTIONS

- 1. Forrest F. Blankenship
- 2. George J. Goodman
- 3. Joe Keeley
- 4. E. A. Frederickson
- 5. Harriet W. Kritser

I SCHOLARSHIPS AND LOAN FUNDS

- 1. M. L. Wardell
- 2. E. J. Schultz
- 3. Glenn C. Couch
- 4. Stella Sanders
- 5. Joe Keeley

J. COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

- 1. V. E. Monnett
- 2. J. Ray Matlock
- 3. William Schriever

K. JOURNAL

- 1. Ronald B. Shuman
- 2. Cortez Ewing
- 3. Savoie Lottinville