JOURNAL, OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE September 30, 1946 Room 101, Monnet Hall

The Senate met in regular session with Acting Vice-Chairman, J. F. Bender, in the chair.

The following new Senators, if present, were introduced: Arts and Sciences, J. Teague Self, John C. Brixey, Howard W. Larsh; Business Administration, Arthur B. Adams; Engineering, R. L. Huntington; Law, Earl Sneed; Medicine Kenneth M. Richter; Pharmacy, Blanche E. Sommers; General Faculty, Claude A. Campbell, Royden J. Dangerfield, Fritz Frauchiger, E. D. Meacham, L. N. Morgan, C. E. Springer, and Lloyd Swearington.

The Senate elected the members of the Committee on Committees as fillows: John H. Leek, C. E. Springer, and Cortez A. M. Ewing.

The Committee on Committees made the following nominations which were approved by the Senate:

Vice-Chairman, John F. Bender Secretary, E. E. Hatfield

The question of representation in the Senate was discussed by various members from the floor. It was pointed out that the faculty of the various colleges is now much larger than it was in 1942. Accordingly, a motion was made and carried to the effect: "That the question of representation in the University Senate be referred to an appropriate committee for study and a recommendation." The selection of this committee is to be left to the Chairman of the Senate, President Cross. However, it was suggested that Committee E, the Committee on Coordination, might be the proper committee to perform this task.

An attempt was made to try to determine the most convenient time to hold our regular Senate meetings. The members present agreed that the meetings should be at 4:10 p.m. on the last Monday in the month, as has been the time of the meetings in the past; or at 4:10 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month. The Secretary was instructed to contact the absent members to determine the most suitable day and hour for our meetings.

The Senate adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted.

E. E. Hatfield, Secretary