JOURNAL OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE October 29, 1945, 4:10 p.m. Room 101, Monnet Hall

The University Senate met in regular session with Vice-Chairman J. F. Bender in the chair. (President Cross came in a few minutes late and took over to continue with the meeting.)

The Journal of the Senate for the previous meeting was approved.

H. V. Thornton, Chairman of the Committee on Committees, presented a report recommending that all of the old members on the standing committees of the University Senate who are still members of the Senate be re-appointed to those committees, and that only vacancies be filled. (This recommendation was approved.)

The new members appointed to the standing committees of the University Senate are as follows:

- (A) Curriculum and University Standards: J. F. Bender, and A. O. Weese.
- (B) Libraries and Laboratory Facilities: W. K. Newton, and J. H. Leek.
- (C) Research: J. R. Nielsen, and W. A. Willibrand.

(D) Faculty Personnel: C. P. Green -- on leave.

- (E) Coordination: J. H. Casey, (On leave) and E. F. Dawson.
- (F) Utilization and Development of University Buildings and Grounds: (One place that may remain vacant for the present because of not having a man for the place.)
- (G) Organization of Departments, Schools, and Divisions: S. C. Holland.
- (H) Extra-Mural Functions: R. J. Jones, J. E. Smay, Dora McFarland, and P. S. Carpenter -- on leave.
- (I) Committee on Committees: A. O. Weese--elected by the Senate at the previous meeting.

(On the following page attached, you will find a complete list of all standing committees of the University Senate.)

The Senate adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

E. E. Hatfield, Secretary

STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE, 1945-46

CURRICULUM AND UNIVERSITY STANDARDS F. UTILIZATION AND DEVELOPMENT OF UNIVERSITY BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS 1. G. E. Wadsack 2. W. H. Carson 1. J. R. Taylor 3. G. C. Couch 2. D. B. R. Johnson 4. L. E. Winfrey 3. F. G. Tappan 5. J. F. Bender 4. E. E. Dale 6. A. O. Weese B. LIBRARIES AND LABORATORY FACILITIES G. ORGANIZATION OF DEPARTMENTS, SCHOOLS, AND DIVISIONS 1. Bruce Houston 2. H. F. Marsh 1. S. W. Reaves 3. C. C. Rister 2. J. R. Matlock 4. W. K. Newton 3. Dixie Young 5. J. H. Leck 4. I. J. Sollenberger 5. M. O. Wilson C. RESEARCH 6. S. C. Holland 1. A. A. Hellbaum H. EXTRA-MURAL FUNCTIONS 2. C. A. M. Ewing 3. J. H. Marshburn 1. W. B. Ragan 4. J. R. Nielsen 2. R. J. Jones 5. W. A. Willibrand 3. J. E. Smay 4. Dora McFarland D: FACULTY PERSONNEL 5. P. S. Carpenter (on leave) 1. R. V. James I. COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES 2. William Shriever 3. H. V. Thornton 1. H. V. Thornton 4. G. Y. Williams 2. G. Y. Williams 5. C. P. Green (on leave) 3. A. O. Weeso E. COORDINATION J. JOURNAL COMMITTEE 1. A. K. Christian 1. E. E. Hatfield 2. J. B. Cheadle 2. W. H. Butterfield 3. W. H. Butterfield 3. W. K. Newton 4. J. H. Casey (on leave) 5. E. F. Dawson

(NOTE: The first-named committeeman will be responsible for calling his committee together for its first meeting.)