JOURNAL OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE October 30, 1944, 4:10 p.m. Monnet Hall, Room 101

The Senate met in regular session with President Cross as Chairman.

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as published.

The report of the Committee on Committees was presented by Professor Thornton. This report completed the organization of Senate Committees. (See the attached report, which was approved.)

Related questions were raised in the Senate: (a) As to whether "O. U. Beautiful Dolls," a recent Playhouse production sponsored by the School of Drama, and at present being shown over the state in military and naval camps, is the type of entertainment that should be sponsored by the University; and (b) as to whether there is a clearing house responsible for such public activities.

In regard to the above matter, a motion was made and carried to the effect that the Committee on Extra-Mural Functions investigate the play, "O. U. Beautiful Dolls," and make recommendations as to the advisability of its being put on in other places over the state, and also furmulate some policies in regard to such public performances in the future.

Professor L. N. Morgan, Vice-Chairman, presented to the Senate a summary of a letter from Mrs. Charles M. Perry to the effect that she objected to Radio Station WNAD, an educational broadcasting station, giving free advertising to picture shows, as well as any other business organization, under the guise of news announcements, criticisms, and comments.

In regard to the above letter, a motion was made and carried; "That the Secretary of the Senate be instructed to write to Mrs. Perry stating first, that her letter has been presented to the Senate, and secondly, that the President of the University has indicated a willingness to discuss the matter mentioned in her letter with Mrs. Perry and the acting director of station WNAD."

President Cross announced that he had appointed a committee on Budgets and Faculty Promotions consisting of J. F. Bender, S. W. Reaves, O. B. Jacobson, J. F. Brookes, and M. H. Merrill. This committee is to review budget requests and requests for faculty promotions as made by the various Departmental Chairmen and Deans. The President expressed his willingness to let the faculty participate The Journal of the University Senate

this a set

in the selection of this committee after the expiration of its present term of office.

The President also stated his desire that some plan be worked out to give special recognition to professors on the campus who, during the course of their classroom teaching, show unusual interest in the general welfare of our University students. The President remarked that there is no question in his mind but that the members of the faculty are tremendously interested in our students, but that we should do more to let the students and their parents know of our interest in them.

The President further remarked that questions are now coming in daily in regard to the present and future status of Departmental Chairmen. He requested that the Senate make recommendations in regard to the creation, duties, powers, length of term, etc. of the Departmental Chairmen.

A motion carried to the effect that the study of the status of the Departmental Chairmen, as requested by the President, be referred to the Committee on Organization of Departments, Schools, and Divisions.

A motion carried that the report of the President's committee on Faculty Recruitment and Promotion of the University Planning Commission be referred to the Committee on Faculty Personnel as a basis of recommendations on the subject of faculty promotions in the university.

A motion carried requesting that the Committee on Faculty Personnel also work out some policies in regard to the recruitment of the faculty personnel.

The Senate adjourned at 5:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by

E. E. Hatfield, Secretary

STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE, 1944-45

The ALE

Α.	CURRICULUM AND UNIVERSITY STANDARDS	G. ORGANIZATION OF DEPARTMENTS,
	1. Prof. O. B. Jacobson	SCHOOLS, AND DIVISIONS
	2. Mr. G. E. Wadsack	
	3. Prof. V. E. Monnett	1. Prof. S. W. Reaves
	4. Prof. W. H. Carson	2. Prof. J. R. Matlock
	5. Prof. G. C. Couch	3. Prof. Dixie Young
	6. Prof. L. E. Winfrey	4. Prof. I. J. Sollenberger
		5. Prof. Leslie Hughes
В.	LIBRARIES AND LABORATORY FACILITIES	6. Prof. M. O. Wilson
		H. EXTRA-MURAL FUNCTIONS
	1. Prof. L. N. Morgan	THE MORE FUNCTIONS
	2. Prof. S. R. Tompkins	1. Prof. W. B. Ragan
	3. Prof. Bruce Houston	2. Prof. K. C. Kaufman
	4. Prof. H. F. Marsh	3. Prof. Fayette Copeland
	5. Prof. C. C. Rister	4.
c.	DECLASTIC	General Faculty
0.	RESEARCH	5.
	1. Prof. R. H. Records	Law School
	2. Prof. C. L. Farrar	
	3. Dr. A. A. Hellbaum	
	4. Prof. C. A. M. Ewing	(NOTE: The first-named commit-
	5. Prof. J. H. Marshburn	teeman will be responsible
		for calling his committee
D.	FACULTY PERSONNEL	together for its first
		meeting.)
	1. Prof. R. V. James	
	2. Prof. William Shriever	
	3. Prof. H. V. Thornton	
	4. Prof. H. H. Herbert	
	5. Prof. G. Y. Williams	
E.	COORDINATION	
	1. Prof. A. K. Christian	
*	2. Prof. C. F. Giard	
	3. Prof. C. E. Springer	
	4. Prof. J. B. Cheadle	
	5. Prof. W. H. Butterfield	
F.	UTILIZATION AND DEVELOPMENT OF	
	UNIVERSITY BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS	
	1. Prof. J. R. Taylor	
	2. Prof. D. B. R. Johnson	
	3. Prof. A. I. Ortenberger	
	4. Prof. F. G. Tappan	
	5. Prof. E. E. Dale	
	A TIOT P D. DETG	