## JOURNAL OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE December 6, 1943, 4:10 p.m. Monnet Hall, 101

The Senate met in special session with Senator A. O. Weese, Vice-Chairman, presiding.

Dean John B. Cheadle took the floor and announced that the Board of Regents of the University of Oklahoma had requested that a faculty committee be elected to confer with the Board and discuss the matter of the selection of a new president of the University. Dean Cheadle stated that the Board does not want to shift the responsibility of selecting a president to the faculty; neither does the Board want to ignore the faculty in this important matter.

Professor L. N. Morgan, Chairman of the Committee on Committees, made the following motion concerning the election of a committee to represent the Senate and the Faculty before the Board of Regents on the matter of a new president of the University.

"1. That a committee of seven be elected, consisting of five members of the Senate and two members of the Faculty who are not members of the Senate.

"2. That on the first ballot, in the election of Senators, each Senator shall vote for five of those nominated; that the eight Senators who receive the highest number of votes shall be voted on on a second ballot; and that the five who shall receive the highest number of votes on the second ballot shall be declared elected.

"3. That on the first ballot, in the election of members of the Faculty not members of the Senate, each Senator shall vote for two of those nominated; that the four who receive the highest number of votes shall be voted on on a second ballot; and that the two who receive the highest number of votes of this second ballot shall be declared elected." (The motion as to procedure carried.)

Professor Morgan, Chairman of the Committee on Committees, then made the following nominations:

Nominated from the	Senate:	Nominated from the Faculty:
Bender, John F. Brookes, J. F. Cross, George L. Hellbaum, A. A. Herbert, H. H. Jacobson, O. B. James, Ima James, R. V.	Kaufman, K. C. Newton, W. K. Records, Ralph H. Sollenberger, I. J Springer, E. C. Thornton, H. V. Wadsack, George E. Williams, G. Y.	Bienfang, Ralph Campbell, Claude A. Leek, John H. J. Matlock, J. R. Monnett, V. E. Nielsen, J. Rud

The following Senators and other faculty members were elected: John F. Bender, George L. Cross, O. B. Jacobson, Ralph H. Records, George E. Wadsack, V. E. Monnett, and S. W. Reaves.

The Senate adjourned at 4:50 p.m.