When the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Oklahoma established The University of Oklahoma on December 19, 1890, it provided for a Board of Regents consisting of six members, five to be appointed by the Governor for four-year terms. The Governor served as a member of the Board during his term of office.

Territorial Governor Steele appointed the first Board of Regents in 1891. It was composed of John M. Canon, Canadian County, Albert Taggart, Payne County, L.G. Pitman, Oklahoma County, E.C. Tritt, Kingfisher County, and Albert F. Pentecost, Logan County. The first meeting of the Board of Regents was held on June 30, 1891. No minutes exist of the meetings of the Board during the first two years. The first set of minutes available is for May 6, 1893. Presumably the minutes for 1891 and 1892 were lost in the fire which destroyed the first Administration Building.

As a result of charges that the Board of Regents had acted illegally in management of construction of the first University building and with the Territorial Legislature dead-locked eight to eight on a resolution to censure the Board of Regents, the entire Board resigned in March 1893. Governor A.J. Seay appointed four new Regents and the first meeting was held on May 6, 1893.

Immediately after Oklahoma became a state on November 16, 1907, and after the inauguration of the regular State officials, the Board of Regents of The University of Oklahoma was reorganized with eight Board members appointed by the Governor. The Governor of the State again was a member of the Board ex officio.

The 1911 Legislature of the State of Oklahoma passed a law which provided for a State Board of Education. The State Board of Education consisted of seven members including the State Superintendent of Public Instruction who was designated as the President. Six members of the Board were appointed by the Governor by and with the advice and consent of the Senate for six-year terms. The State Board of Education was designated as the legal successor to the Board of Regents of the "State University". Many of the other institutions of higher education in the State, plus a few other boards, also were reorganized under the State Board of Education. The A. & M. colleges were not included. The new State Board of Education was appointed by the Governor on April 8, 1911.

On April 3, 1919, the Legislature of the State of Oklahoma created the "Board of Regents for the State University". The legislative act provided for a Board consisting of seven members to be appointed by the Governor by and with the consent of the Senate. The appointments were to be for seven years. The Governor acted promptly in appointing new Regents and the Board held its first meeting on April 30, 1919 in the Governor's Office in Oklahoma City.

By a vote of the people of the State of Oklahoma at an election held on July 11, 1944, the statutory Board of Regents became the constitutional Board of Regents of The University of Oklahoma.

## MEMBERS OF THE TERRITORIAL BOARD OF REGENTS 1891 to 1907

Henry Asp. Guthrie, 1898 to 1902 Governor Cassius M. Barnes, Guthrie, 1897 to 1901 George W. Bellamy, El Reno, 1899 to 1901 C.O. Blake, El Reno, 1898 to 1901 Charles L. Botsford, Norman, 1899 to 1901 John M. Canon, Canadian County, 1891 to 1893 John R. Clark, Stillwater, 1892 to 1893 John I. Dille, El Reno, 1895 to 1898 Selwyn Douglas, Oklahoma City, 1906 to 1907 Governor Thompson B. Ferguson, Watonga, 1901 to 1906 Governor Frank Frantz, Enid, 1906 to 1907 Harry Gilstrap, Chandler, 1902 to 1907 George S. Green, Guthrie, 1897 to 1899 Acting Governor William C. Grimes, 1901 Governor William M. Jenkins, Guthrie, 1901 L.P. King, Waukomis, 1899 to 1900 C.W. Kirk, Tecumseh, 1893 to 1894 Dell L. Larsh, Norman, 1901 to 1907 Sam T. Leavy, Norman, 1894 to 1895 James D. Maguire, Norman, 1895 to 1899 Acting Governor Robert Martin, 1891 to 1892 J.H. Maxey, Shawnee, 1894 to 1897 C.A. McBrian, Watonga, 1902 W.W. Noffsinger, Kingfisher, 1893 to 1895 Andrew F. Pentecost, Logan County, 1891 to 1893 L.G. Pitman, Oklahoma County, 1891 to 1893 J.C. Pringey, Chandler, 1893 to 1894 Governor William C. Renfrow, Norman, 1893 to 1897 Governor Abraham J. Seay, Kingfisher, 1891 to 1893 H.A. Smith, El Reno, 1893 to 1894 Governor George W. Steele, Guthrie, 1891 George W. Sutton, M.D., Cleveland, 1900 to 1907 W.R. Swartout, Enid, 1895 to 1897 Albert Taggart, Payne County, 1891 to 1892 E.C. Tritt, Kingfisher County, 1891 to 1893 James H. Wheeler, Oklahoma City, 1893 to 1899 J.L. Wilkin, Oklahoma City, 1902 to 1906 Robert E. Wood, Shawnee, 1901 to 1907